Cast and credits

Le Nozze di Figaro (1786), K. 492, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Libretto by Lorenzo da Ponte after a play by Pierre-Augustin Beaumarchais; English version by Edward J. Dent; Schirmer edition of vocal score edited by Erwin Stein

Figaro, former Barber of Seville, now the Count's valetPeter Laurence (bass-baritone)
Susanna, Figaro's future wife and servant of the CountessSheena Smith (soprano)
Count Almaviva, unfaithful to his wife Rosina, chasing after SusannaStephen Hines (bass)
Rosina, Countess Almaviva, his wife, saddened by the Count's unfaithfulness Tanuja Doss (soprano)
Cherubino, the Count's page, in love with every woman in the castleAlison Knight (soprano)
Marcellina, an ageing spinster, with a contract to marry Figaro Leila Fetter (soprano)
Dr Bartolo, vengeful toward Figaro for foiling his former plans to marry RosinaRobert Orr (bass)
Don Basilio, master of music and intrigueRon Presswell (tenor)
Don Curzio, a judgeAndrew Koll (tenor)
Antonio, palace gardenerTony Fortey (bass)
Barbarina, Antonio's daughter, in love with CherubinoMadeleine Rowland (soprano)
Village girlsRosella Herbert & Odette Upstill (sopranos)
Chorus of villagersLinda Anchell, Anne Bannerman, Doug Bannerman, Jim Bowring, Catronia Bryce, Mary Bush, Helene Duponchel, Lorna Gamble, Denise Manley, Brian McKinlay, Brad Milton, Rachel Parsons

Musical director and pianist

Colin Forbes
Stage directionPatricia Whitbread & Colin Forbes
Stage assistantHelene Duponchel
Vocal coachPatricia Whitbread
Musical assistantAlexander O'Sullivan
Technical & LightingLeighton Mann
Costume adviserSandra Lamerton
Technical assistantsRob Lamerton & Robert Bylo
Art workKerry-Anne Cousins
ChoreographyRosella Herbert
Radio announcerLincoln Draw

Acknowledgements: Many thanks to Lorraine Thomson for ticketing; teachers Andrea Orwin, David Reedy and Judith Bauer for lending their very talented students; Sue Lynskey, Robert Bylo, Tim Gowty and Sarah Gowty for help in assembling props and sets; Robert Orr for advertising; Robyn Fetter for costume assistance; Lachlan Blackball, Griff Ware, Meg Colwell, Ruth Parsons & Lorraine Thomson for front of house; Sandra Lamerton for her artistry in matters of costuming, millinery and floral displays; Leighton Mann, Kerry-Anne Cousins, Rob Lamerton, Gareth Lamerton and Robert Bylo, technical team; Helen Duponchel, Sally & Richard Adams, Lincoln Daw, Rosella Herbert & Alexander O'Sullivan for their assistance; Brian McKinlay for the website.